Sunday, April 17, 2011

Wanda Jackson #1

I've got a great treat for you today.  Wanda Jackson was known as the Queen of Rockabilly.  She was known as the female Elvis.  She was Elvis' girlfriend for a while.  Wanda recorded some great, great stuff in the rockabilly and country music genres, and she is still active in the recording industry.  Just a couple months back she released a new album, produced by Jack White (of the White Stripes). 

I'm very pleased to be able to share "Reckless Love Affair", a 1967 release of 12 songs.  This album is closer to pure country than the rock-n-roll/rockabilly of her earlier recordings.  It was also one of her best-selling records, peaking at #17 on the country music charts.

Track List:

1    Reckless Love Affair
2    The Box It Came In
3    Look Out Heart
4    Because It's You
5    What Have We Done
6    This Gun Don't Care
7    Tears Will Be The Chaser For Your Wine
8    I Wonder If She Knows
9    Long As I Have You
10  Let Me Talk To You
11  My Baby's Gone
12  You Can't Make A Heel Toe The Mark

So, does the title of this post, Wanda Jackson #1, imply that there is more Wanda Jackson to come?  Perhaps...  :-)

Please enjoy "Reckless Love Affair"

download link


  1. Thanks so much! (we just got to see her live when she played a club here a few weeks ago - one of the best shows we've ever seen, seriously. & the new CD is quite good too)

  2. Thanks Dan! Keep an eye out here for more from Wanda...